1 Hour Lunch

carneys

I'm a driver in California and the latest thing UPS is on the high horse about in our area is the taking of an hour lunch. I always take an hour because in the past when i took an 1/2 hour i would always bring in the air! But since i'm a shop stweart and been with UPS for 27 years i don't let anything go by me if i think it's unfair! In the contract the parragraph that explains lunch period (i will not quote the contract look it up) there is nothing that states that we have to take an hour for lunch. Managment says it implyes it!! and unfortuneatly the union is agreeing with managment. One center even has there diad board shut down for 1 hour ours only shuts down for 1/2 hour. California law only says that at least an 1/2 hour has to be given. So whats the deal!!!!!

Ours state a lunch of 1 hour. Now some take 50 minutes + 10 minutes break to reach that hour. Others take 1 hour of lunch + 10 minutes of break for a longer rest period.

grgrcr88

No It's not green grocer!
Carney,
Why would you not want to take the full hour? We used to get an hour here and no one took the full hour because they wanted to get home earlier, so our local has an agreement for half hour lunch because thats what everyone thought they wanted,(that way they could go home sooner). Well the company just added more work to make up for the half hour and people are still out just as long, only now they only get 30 minutes for lunch!!

I would love to have an hour!!

What does your supplement say? I've seen a few that says something to the effect. A one hour lunch break is granted. 1/2 hour lunch is allowed if agreed upon by both the company and the employee.

carneys

Carney,