22.3 combo people are being told not guaranteed 8 hrs of work

bigredfvr

I'm a driver and a steward in the central plains district and have heard that our 22.3 combo people are not going to be gauranteed 8 hrs. of work. Apparantly managements stance is that they are working 2 different shifts, and like part-timers who are gauranteed at least 3.5 hrs of work on one shift, the combo people are only gauranteed 7 hrs. of work 3.5 hrs per shift. Does anyone see this happening in their centers. Our BA is not standing behind these people and needs to be seen to the door, but at a recent union meeting the President of the union backed the BA. This gesture just might result in many bargaining unit employees filling out withdraw cards. If you ask me our union is very soft and needs a complete overhaul if we want to stand up to UPS.

brett636

Thats pretty brazen by management if true. I'm a 22.3 combo and I get my eight hours each and every night. Its just too bad the union isn't backing them up on this since this is such an easy fight to win. Not too mention all the back pay those combo workers would be getting as soon as its won.

Just wanted to ask, what kind of reasoning is the BA and the union President using to support management in this situation? They get the same benefits as all the other full timers, get fulltimer vacation pay, and even get credit in the same pension plan as fulltime drivers do. How can they say they are not guaranteed eight when they are labeled a fulltime employee?

JonFrum

Even though the 23.3 language has been weakened in this current Contract, the term "full-time" is still used four times just in Article 22, Section 3 alone. It's also used in Articles 40 and 41 additional times in reference to 22.3 people. These references are all from the Master Contract.

dilligaf

IN VINO VERITAS