8+ years PT and Counting

Package_Donkey14

milk was a bad choice
I have 8+ years PT in with UPS and have never had the opportunity to go FT. I could have been a doctor by now!!! Has anyone had to wait this long?

quest01

During my interview for a UPS part time package handler position I asked the manager how long would it take to become a full time package delivery driver and the HR lady told me it takes on average 11-14 years. Unforunately they never hired me for the position but if my current job doesn't work out I may call the UPS HR lady and ask if they are still hiring for this position.

edd_tv

Cardboard picker upper
going on 9 years part time now. several old timers who never drove air or anything came out of the woodwork and took full time bids when they came up.
in my bldg im a cover driver 6 months of the year from June thru christmas then go back to preload in jan. ive worked enough to go thru progression so i ended up making top rate at the beginning of August which is about the only silver lining. we lost two full timers this year and they havent posted those jobs, yet. center manager told me he put in to get them but waiting to see. also, the real sh**sucker of that is that one of them is an off the street hire and he will go before me.

the wait keeps going, and going, and going...

StopTheAct

i waited about 8 years to go full time....
i could of went full time waay sooner but i was making waay more money part time job and The other job i had..(less hours and way taking home more than most) but it was off the books and was really messing things up...getting a car, house..retirenment..etc..
i could of taken a 22.3 job around 4 years but passed up.. and then i could of went cover driving around 4-5 years and turned full time sooner...
but my stupid butt Went "Straight full time driver)" after my 8th year!!

Argosyangele