A Little Nervous, Pardon my Venting

MassWineGuy

Well, after two weeks of hearing nothing, I got a message this morning from a supervisor at my center asking me to call in. Maybe he just wanted to know how I was doing. Maybe he wanted to award me the Powerball jackpot. But more than likely, he probably wants me to come in tomorrow and drive. Distancing myself from it in my mind, I feel fine. I'm a good driver (even though a package car will take some adjusting) and I think I understand the other aspects of the job. Still, I'm somewhat nervous and maybe a little scared, as this is new to me.

As a friend of mine who drove a package car for 20 years told me, the most important thing to UPS is don't get in an accident because then their profit margin goes to zero. I'll keep that in mind.

thatsmypackage

You will probably be going out with a supervisor to learn a route... hopefully an area that you may already know well. :) You'll make deliveries and learn the DIAD at the same time. After a few days you'll get the hang of it. Biggest thing is sorting... learn to use the number system they have on the truck shelves. Before you know it, you'll be on your own... and THAT'S when it gets better.

At least you got a call... I'll probably be called to turn my uniforms in. LMAO. :)

MassWineGuy

It did cross my mind that maybe they called just to tell me to return the uniforms. It's been pretty danged cold here in New England lately. I need to get a UPS brown wool cap (not necessarily issued by UPS).

upschuck

Once you start driving, the nightmares start coming as well. Every driver I know has had them; 11 o'clock still have bunch of airs, 5 pm still have a full truck, that kind of thing.

Just so you know.

MassWineGuy

Once you start driving, the nightmares start coming as well. Every driver I know has had them; 11 o'clock still have bunch of airs, 5 pm still have a full truck, that kind of thing.