Air Driver Question

Routerman26

Sorry i am a noob to this site, but wanted to ask a simple question that i can't get a answer for. I was browsing through the Nation Master United Parcel Service Agreement and came across Article 40 Section 1 (9). Shuttle work currently being performed by part-time air drivers shall be converted to full-time air driver work when the driver vacates the job except when there is not enough work available to create a full-time job. Can someone please explain this statement? Thanks in advance.

Backlasher

Stronger, Faster, Browner
Part time air driver does shuttle. Part time air driver retires, quites, bids on another position, fired. Whatever the case may B!!

That shuttlework is supposed 2 be combined with other work 2 create a fulltime position.

The shuttle for my center is done by a fulltime air driver.

He starts early and works inside, then drives to airport and shuttles air back 2 building. Then he does an air route. He gets 40 a week and gets a better pay rate then part time air drivers but less then fulltime drivers. I think his pay is $28hrly. No overtime allowed for him.

Routerman26

Thanks for the quick response. That brings me to my next questions. If a part-timer has been doing the air shuttle work for over a year because a full-timer retired, does this statement apply to the part-timer ? Does it mean until the part-timer vacates the position they can't turn it into a full combo job?

nystripe96

I'm a loader on the twilight. My hub supe knows I want to be a driver, so he suggested I go to hr and inquire about Sat air driver position. I'm only 3 months in as a loader. I have a class B CDL, but only drive automatic unfortunately. Since I barely know how to drive stick, would I be better of as just being a driver helper next peak before I even think about doing Saturday air?

hondo

promoted to mediocrity
Thanks for the quick response. That brings me to my next questions.