Air driving questions

My question is how is the road test for air drivers? do they need to know stick shift? or is the test taken with an automatic truck? when I worked as a driver helper my driver told me that UPS is getting rid of the stick shift trucks because it's becoming a thing of the past. I also am guessing that they might just give me the test on one of those small vans. My interview is on 7/21/15 in the west 43rd street UPS facility in NYC. I really hope I take the exam with an automatic truck things would be so easier for me.

silenze

Lunch is the best part of the day
Sorry. The road test for air driving is the same as package. The truck they select may be a manual transmission in a large truck.

FrigidFTSup

Resident Suit
Our air drivers take the smallest cars we have to the airport everyday, but they, along with everybody who drives in our building gets taught on our biggest and most difficult truck. If you can drive that, you can drive anything. Plus as peak comes around the nice automatics become less and less. Chances are you won't be in a new automatic unless they give you a uhaul.

margaritaville

You need to know stick to pass the test but once you're an air driver you generally drive automatic, atleast on saturdays. When i became an air driver i had to drive a crappy old stick.

However, when i became a fulltime driver, they were using the crappy stick on the first group going out. And someone in that group wrote up a mechinical issue on it since its a piece of garbage. So they had to send it to the mechanic. Since i was in the second group we got to use a medium size ups automatic van :laugh: since it was the only thing that could hold the group. So easy haha.

Box Ox