All Air Drivers To Be Eliminated?

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by shalang, Jul 9, 2016.

1. shalang

shalang Member

Im in Los Angeles, Local 396. There is a huge rumor in our hub that the Air Driver position is going to be eliminated. A lot of this is fueled by the new Tue-Saturday full time driver positions that are springing up all over.

I am a Saturday Air Driver and we have had a lot of full timers coming in to make their 60 hours per week. Also, we are gettinf a ton of work during the weekdays that stays back because there are not enough drivers to take rhe excess.

Are these rumors substantiated? Would suck for a lot of us that have been doing this for a long time with our own routes. I remember that EAM drivers were laid off a few years ago and their jobs reconfigured to the hub. Perhaps we have to make that unfortunate move to full-time driving...

2. It's cheaper to pay a full time driver to work Saturday air, than to have an extra body on the payroll.

3. Big Arrow Down...D

Big Arrow Down...D Leave the gun,take the cannoli

They're using hub rats and T-S guys for Saturday in our center as well, air drivers will be a thing of the past.

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  4. Unfortunately... yes

5. shalang

shalang Member

I agree that it ia a cheaper expense. I dont resent UPS for doing it at all.

What does this mean for full time drivers? Even if they hire more FT drivers, wont their workload be even more demanding? Usually they use us PT Air Drivers as covers and also to do last minute deliveries.

6. PT Car Washer

PT Car Washer Well-Known Member

Saturdays used to be staffed with just PT (6). Now only 2 or 3 PT and the rest FT drivers making time and a half. The last 2 PT air drivers we picked up were disqualified package car drivers.

7. More people on the payroll, more pension money, more paid vacations and holidays, more health care, more vehicles they need to purchase...etc etc

8. shalang