Always know that clearance height!!!

NHDRVR

I feel bad for guy... I know that back in the days when I was a cover driver I drove the old, new(lol), and everything in between. The difference in height was substantial. We even had an old 1200, I think, that you needed a ladder to climb into and it had the worst airbrake setup. I hated that vehicle.
Anyways, yes, know your vehicle height.

City Driver

"The tractor was marked as being 13 feet, 6 inches tall, while the viaduct features a sign showing it is 11 feet, 4 inches tall."

he wasnt even close...

we have alot of bridges that simply arent marked or are marked incorrectly....theres bridges u can get under that are marked 12 foot 8

M

Mike23

We have a bridge like that. We had a driver take half his roof off on it and smoosh all his packages. Weird thing is, apparently you can see the bridge from miles away and people seem to do this usually once every few years.

City Driver

We have a bridge like that. We had a driver take half his roof off on it and smoosh all his packages. Weird thing is, apparently you can see the bridge from miles away and people seem to do this usually once every few years.

was the word smoosh really in the police report? :dissapointed:

bluehdmc

"The tractor was marked as being 13 feet, 6 inches tall, while the viaduct features a sign showing it is 11 feet, 4 inches tall."

he wasnt even close...

we have alot of bridges that simply arent marked or are marked incorrectly....theres bridges u can get under that are marked 12 foot 8

NY State seems to have a their own yardstick for measuring bridges. I've been told it's the from the hub up or something like that, but you can go right under a bridge marked 13' with a 13'6" trailer. The route to Foster Ave in Brooklyn has two subway bridges you go under marked this way.

over9five

Staff member