Am I screwing myself out of air driver hours?

BUCN85

I signed up for summer coverage but I am also an air driver. I also did winter seasonal and when that kicked in they said I wasn't allowed to drive air anymore because I'm coded as a driver. Is this going to be the case with summer coverage too? Because I am pretty sure I won't be driving too much this summer being lowest man down.

"This is called the pre-LOAD not the pre-STACK"

PT Car Washer

As a seasonal driver you will work as directed. You have no seniority rights. UPS can work other PTers ahead of you. Better hope your management team likes you or it is going to be a long summer for you. The good news, it is a way to go FT driving ahead of other PTers.

Cementups

Box Monkey
Even if you were coded as a driver you can still work as an air driver. They just don't want to pay you as a driver to run air routes.

I used to do it all the time. I was a top rate driver and would run a route all day and then they would have a call off on the air routes. They would call and ask me to cover the one bulk van trip that picked up two stops and then to the airport and back. It was easy money and I wasn't married or had kids yet. So I would work from 8:30am until about 10p.m. all at top driver rate.

BUCN85

Even if you were coded as a driver you can still work as an air driver. They just don't want to pay you as a driver to run air routes.

I used to do it all the time. I was a top rate driver and would run a route all day and then they would have a call off on the air routes. They would call and ask me to cover the one bulk van trip that picked up two stops and then to the airport and back. It was easy money and I wasn't married or had kids yet. So I would work from 8:30am until about 10p.m. all at top driver rate.