Anyone returned to package driver after major back injury/surgery?

Discussion in 'Health and Medical Topics' started by Over9.5>3Times, Feb 14, 2016.

1. Hi. I'm a newbie here so please bear with me but my question is has anyone here come back to work as a package driver after a major back injury or even a back surgery? I have recently been told by my workers comp Dr. that I have some major back injuries that will probably require surgery down the road but as of right now I have a chance to return to my job as a package car driver. So I would like to know from anyone who has returned as a driver how their experience was/is and if they regret their decision to return?

2. UpstateNYUPSer

UpstateNYUPSer Very proud grandfather.

What are your options?

3. My options as far as UPS is concerned is to come back as a package driver with no restrictions or don't come back at all. My workers comp Dr. says that his opinion is that I find another job but he says that he will allow me to return to full duty if I feel like I can manage the pain from my injuries.

4. UpstateNYUPSer

How much time do you have in?

5. 14 years 10 full-time

6. UpstateNYUPSer

Do you feel as though you can work another 15-20 years, or more, to earn a full pension?

As for advice---use the methods, especially the 5 keys to lifting and lowering.

I wish you the best. Dave.

7. Thanks for the advice. I don't know if I can make it that long or not but sure would be nice to hear from someone who has or has tried to work that long with similar conditions.

8. oldngray

oldngray nowhere special

I knew several drivers who returned after back surgery but none of them lasted many more years.

9. rod

rod retired and happy