Are the amount of oversized packages at an all time high ?

HEFFERNAN

Huge Member
Up here in New England, summer has set in quickly. I have never seen the amount of smokers, grills, patio heaters, and patio sets that have stuffed my truck the last 3 weeks. The aura of free shipping on internet sites have sucked in the public. 3/4 of these packages pretty much look like they've been rolled to my car straight from the unloaded feeder truck.

Preload doesn't care that I'm the one that has to pull that 149 lb six chaired patio set off my truck with a leg sticking out of the box. I pray every time I'm delivering that they are not home. As a UPS driver, I personally paid more for heavier items not to be delivered by us because we don't do a great job in handling over 70's. Even picking it up at the local Home Depot is my optimal choice because most likely it was palleted to the store.

Has any other drivers seen how much more residential overweight packages we've been delivering and the drop in proper handling ?

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

I delivered a swing set to a trailer park the other day. I joked with the homeowner that assembly was extra. The stop was one of my last for the day and I had to work around that damn thing all day.

Overpaid Union Thug

Up here in New England, summer has set in quickly. I have never seen the amount of smokers, grills, patio heaters, and patio sets that have stuffed my truck the last 3 weeks. The aura of free shipping on internet sites have sucked in the public. 3/4 of these packages pretty much look like they've been rolled to my car straight from the unloaded feeder truck.