Auto mechanic UPS

manmech

I have a tour Tuesday as a Mechanic for UPS i was just wondering how it is to work as a mechanic for UPS. i have always wanted to work for ups since i have become a mechanic. i was wondering if any one would disclose rate of pay and how over all job is.

A

anonymous6

welcome here. i'm not a mechanic but want to say how important you guys are to us.

browntruckmechanic

Well isn't that special ?????????
Depending on contract language. Here in the southern region you will start at 70% of top pay rate till you make seniority, then you will go to 75% for the rest of the year, in the second year will go to 80%, in the third yr would be 90% till you finally reach top pay. health, vision, and dental insurance after 90 days. Expect to work nights for 10-15 yrs. Commercial drivers license is required to work on tractor units due to need the ability to drive off property if needed. Here in Texas a State Inspector license is required.

Now on to the other part of your question. be prepared for some of the dumbest decisions to be made from mngt, just remember to work as directed no matter how dumb, unless the safety of the public comes into question. If you feel the vehicle is not safe for the public roads. Red tag it for safety, the safety card trumps mngt card every time. Remember mngt will not be the one going to jail for YOU​ putting a unsafe vehicle on the road.

1BROWNWRENCH

Amatuer Malthusian
In my area you get 80% of scale until you make seniority. Be prepared to see very little sunlight. If you really cherish your personal time with your family you should think hard before you accept.

manmech