Automotive Mechanic

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by DieselTech, Jul 1, 2014.

1. DieselTech

DieselTech New Member

Hi everyone, I am a Master Diesel mechanic right now and used to be a automotive mechanic. I grew interest in a automotive mechanic position around the Raleigh NC area. I actually work the night shift right now for a fleet company. My question is what can I expect, what is the starting pay and what does it go up to. I would appreciate it if I could get a little insight. Thanks.

2. 1BROWNWRENCH

1BROWNWRENCH Amatuer Malthusian

80% of scale for the first year. Expect a lot of useless and annoying "training" on a yearly basis and occasional depression.

3. DieselTech

DieselTech New Member

@1BROWNWRENCH thanks. Does that 80% depend on location and do you have an actually hour amount?

4. Jackburton

Jackburton Gone Fish'n

Are you skilled in the art of duct tape origami, if so there's an opening in the mechanic dept.

• Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  5. oldngray

oldngray nowhere special

[​IMG]

6. I hear that you can expect feeder drivers to wipe buggers on there seats and that sometimes you will come in contact with this.

7. Brownslave688

Brownslave688 You want a toe? I can get you a toe.

That only looks like a bugger. It's just dried up special sauce from one of the 3 Big Macs they ate while making the pull.

8. Eww

9. 1BROWNWRENCH

I can only say for sure about the 80% in my region. Going current rate is 32.28.

10. cachsux

cachsux Wah

Correction : FREE occasional depression.

You're welcome.

Last edited: Jul 2, 2014
  11. Expect a lot of just putting "couldn't duplicate problem, vehicle OK to operate" on the DVIR logs & not fixing a f---in' thing.

Sent while driving from my flip phone via T9 word.

12. Wally

Wally Hailing from Parts Unknown.

Be sure to pull package cars without telling the driver.

13. 1BROWNWRENCH