Becoming a driver!!!?

Rowmonger

During the 2011 peak season I was a driver helper, and a week after peak a ups HR lady called me and asked if I wanted to to go for a driver position. That was a Friday by the next Monday I had done my drive test (12 cubed with a ****ty cluch and no power steering) and my dot. Passed both, so my question were am I in the hiring process and does everyone make it this far or do I actually have legitimate chance of being hired?

Southwestern

Honestly, given the lack of available driving positions within the past 5-7 years, and the number of part-timers patiently waiting (7+ years seniority within my district), it ticks me off to read the large number of postings on BC regarding recent off-the-street hirings.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Honestly, given the lack of available driving positions within the past 5-7 years, and the number of part-timers patiently waiting (7+ years seniority within my district), it ticks me off to read the large number of postings on BC regarding recent off-the-street hirings.

It's in the contract---deal with it.

rocket man

and you belive he/she is gonna start that quick ? or maybe hes in a hub buy him self yea thats it NO ONE IS GONNA STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND SAY ANYTHING.

Southwestern

and you belive he/she is gonna start that quick ? or maybe hes in a hub buy him self yea thats it NO ONE IS GONNA STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND SAY ANYTHING.

Yes, I'm very skeptical that a seasonal driver helper would be offered a full-time driving job. 1) It's likely his center hired seasonal drivers who are trained, qualified and ready; 2) How would UPS be aware of his qualifications; 3) How could he have applied for the job. But I doubt somebody would make that up and take the time to register & post to BC... maybe he lives in an obscured location.

It's in the contract---deal with it.

Wouldn't it be more advantageous for UPS to move part-timers making $16+/hour, given that they can replace them with persons making $8.50/hour?