Best time to start using a driver helper?

Rented Ammo

Hello I'm a new driver who started work on October 13th and I just want to know when the best time is that I should start using my helper. Early in the morning its very rough to find things in order and it seems to me its a waste of time to have me sit there and try to find a package as the helper stands there waiting. Should I start him later in the day instead of right off the bat? Also management tells me to.drop him off with a handcart full of stops while i go do something else. This takes time to set up the cart should I use this method? Thanks for any advice I'm trying to prepare as much as possible for peak

DS

Fenderbender
10:30 express pkgs need to come off first.Next task is the remaining noon commits and the bulk stops.
Being that only you know the routine and the area,you should utilize a helper in a way that saves you time.Every route differs,
so its your call.If its all residential,give him all the driver release and do the sig req and cod's yourself.Or if he's good with the diad,
go the opposite way.Make him do everything that takes time while you prerecord the next 5 stops.
Have a nice peak:)

yeldarb

I start mine at 11. That way, I get the 1030's off, and it also gives me time to get some bulk or irregs off that might be in my way. It is important to have room to sort a little and get your stops in order. Also, the pick up location needs to work for you. I pick mine up at a drop box, so I can easily drop him off at 5, when I pick up the box. If I need to keep him longer, it isnt too far off my path to drop him off.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

My helper works in the hub at night so I only have him until 1530 at the latest. His Dad, who also works at UPS, drops him off with me at my first stop (WallMart) at 0930 and I drop him off at his Mom's (on area) when we have gotten to the point where I can finish on my own. This has varied from 1230 to 1430 the first week.