Best way to take off

I need off for like 1-2 days in the next few weeks.... I hate taking off b/c im a cover driver and they desperately need me...
Do I just tell them i'll be away and wont be here, put in personal days (most likely getting denied), or not say anything and call in sick? ( I do have all my sick days remaining)
I dont want to piss them off because I have been on thin ice with the company.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

If you are already on "thin ice" I would think that banging in twice over the next two weeks during prime vacation time as a cover driver may cause you to fall in.

Go to work---I'm sure whatever you have planned for those two days can wait.

bleedinbrown58

That’s Craptacular
I need off for like 1-2 days in the next few weeks.... I hate taking off b/c im a cover driver and they desperately need me...
Do I just tell them i'll be away and wont be here, put in personal days (most likely getting denied), or not say anything and call in sick? ( I do have all my sick days remaining)
It couldn't hurt to request an OPH....the worst they can say is no. And then, you show up.

poophappens

Just remember, management gives us sick days! So if it was me I would call in if its that important. They always give us a hard time for calling in and I always remind them that they gave them to me to use when I'm "sick" ;)

Squint

No more work for me!
Just remember, management gives us sick days! So if it was me I would call in if its that important. They always give us a hard time for calling in and I always remind them that they gave them to me to use when I'm "sick" ;)

I agree, and even though management doesn't follow the contract, they really can't harass you for calling in sick. Just call in and say you're sick and that you won't be coming in to work that day. Then hang up. If you want to be sneeky, call in before your management team gets there and leave a message with one of the OMS"s.

CFLBrown

Keep in mind he is a cover driver trying to get a FT job.