Bid Air Driver

FlaccidEgo

Hi all,

I am starting with UPS tomorrow at 4am as a part-time package handler. When I went for the interview the HR lady asked me if I'd be interested in driving (as I am English and worked for the Royal Mail before moving to the US and most cars in England are manual transmission).

My HR portal changed from PT Package Handler to "Bid Air Driver." I don't know how soon, if and when I will be driving - are there any other Bid Air Drivers that can enlighten me with their experience, if similar?

Babagounj

Strength through joy
Do your 30 days first .

Get some seniority and learn your way around your building .
Depending on where your building is different rules apply .

Most air driver are part timers .
And currently our fleet is switching over to became fully automatic .
When I was an air driver the only time I drove a stick was when there was nothing else available .

Bring gloves and liquids with you on your first day . And be prepared to feel sore afterwards .

Box Ox

Bid air driving is the best part time combo of pay (at top rate of $26-27 after 2 years) and flexibility at UPS. If you can do that instead of package handling, absolutely, positively do it and don't look back. At my center, air drivers can also temp drive June-January as needed while an air exception driver covers their route.

Sounds like you're on a very good (and lucky) track. PT bid air slots are harder to get than FT slots at my center. You may find the pay/benefit combo of PT air driving much more appealing than grinding it out as a FT ground driver year round.

FlaccidEgo

Thanks Box Ox, I know it's hard work but delivering for Royal Mail was hard work and I did that full-time while studying for my degree part-time so I hope I can manage!

Box Ox

Thanks Box Ox, I know it's hard work but delivering for Royal Mail was hard work and I did that full-time while studying for my degree part-time so I hope I can manage!