Breaks

I just started working for UPS as a seasonal part time as a Preloader just over two weeks. My hours were to be from 4am to 9am. But it being the holiday I have never worked the just the hours that I signed up for. I've been working 10 hour shifts 12pm to 10am. I have some issues, and hope that someone here can guide me.

My team and I have been given only 1 20min break.
One day we worked 12 hours and again with only 1 20min break

Now I'm not saying I'm a pro at all the state employment laws, but isn't this a BIG violation?

Also if you work more than 8 hours for a week straight, doesn't UPS have you concerned you as a FULL TIME employee now? Plus you are concerned as a permanent employee?

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

When you work 8 hours you are entitled to at least a half hour unpaid break. This bumps up to an hour when you work 12 hours. Both breaks are unpaid----wouldn't you rather work right through them and go home that much sooner?

Cementups

Box Monkey
It's your own (and your team's) fault for not taking your lunch/break. You should have spoken up when it mattered, not two weeks later.

you aint even know it

Well-Known Troll
Troll
When you work 8 hours you are entitled to at least a half hour unpaid break. This bumps up to an hour when you work 12 hours. Both breaks are unpaid----wouldn't you rather work right through them and go home that much sooner?

Some people would like to have a break. And to the op, it doesn't matter how many hours you work, if you're a pter, you're a pter. I wouldn't complain about the break thingy right now if I were you if you planned on continuing your employment with UPS. Wait until you've made book, then you can bark as loud as you want.