Can I be forced to run PM air shuttle?

I am a part-time local sorter/cover driver. Some Friday nights I am pulled off the sort and forced to run the PM air shuttle when all full-time drivers refuse to run it. The union book says that no part-timer shall work if there is a full-timer on the premises. I have always been under the impression that the work was forced on the lowest seniority employee that was already on the clock as a driver. Am I correct, or do they have the right to force me to run the shuttle? Any information will be helpful.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

PKG, you are right--the lowest seniority driver should do this work; however, the air has to get to the airport and if there are no FT employees available to do it you will be asked to do it.

brown_trousers

I am a part-time local sorter/cover driver. Some Friday nights I am pulled off the sort and forced to run the PM air shuttle when all full-time drivers refuse to run it. The union book says that no part-timer shall work if there is a full-timer on the premises. I have always been under the impression that the work was forced on the lowest seniority employee that was already on the clock as a driver. Am I correct, or do they have the right to force me to run the shuttle? Any information will be helpful.

Of all the things to complain about.....
An air shuttle is the gravy of all driving work. That is a "problem" I would love to have

UnconTROLLed

perfection
Only FT drivers are allowed to shuttle to and from airport. Article 40

"In no event shall shuttle work be assigned to a part-time air driver"