Can I get fired?

My license expires tomorrow and on my lunch break today I went to get it renewed , but i couldn't do so because i have a commercial license and I needed my dot card. But earlier this week, i lost my license that had my dot card taped to the back of it. But i had a backup license. So now my doctor office is closed to get a new one until monday . And now my supervisor is threatening me saying Im going to get fired if i dont handle it by monday. I know i should of been handle this, but we have atleast three extra drivers a day. If i was a bum driver they wouldbt have a problem with giving me off. Bit since im a stud and i work hard its always a problem when i need off. But my supervisor is basically saying i will be fired if i cant get it handles. Which im not going to be able to because doctor office is closed. Oh yea my birthday is tomorrow

Bagels

Family Leave Fridays!!!
Yes, you can - and will be - fired for attempting to drive without a license. If you're scheduled to work (e.g. you did not previously request time off), the company is not responsible for giving you the day off so that you may renew your license, even if it has extra persons available to work.

Even if you called in (and did not have an attendance issue), they could potentially ask for proof that you were a licensed driver on Monday - and if you weren't, they could attempt to fire you. Probably wouldn't go that far unless they really wanted to get rid of you though....

lateagain

The company doctor that issued your DOT card can issue a duplicate. You can not just go to any doctor and get a card. They are company specific. I don't think this a big deal.

oldngray

nowhere special
the details of this story sound fishy

Troll_940px.jpg