Confused.

asylumstrength

Hey guys, just looking for some advice.

Ive been with UPS in NJ for two years now and first started working with hopes to become a driver one day. After working there for 2 years and talking to drivers and what not, I kind of got the low down on the job and i'm not too sure its really what i want to do with my life, you do only live once. Ive heard everything from ''its great'' to ''it's alright'' to ''you might as well shoot yourself in the face'' when asking drivers how the job was. The long hours, horrible work, retarded sups, no free time, chronic pain, stress, etc just doesnt seem worth it to me personally, it just looks like a slave operation. While ill be making good money and be able to live comfortably, ill also most likely be miserable, stressed out, over-worked, not have any free time, and being that ''woulda coulda shoulda'' guy. I also work as a trainer at a gym and thats really what i'd like to do for a living, but i might not be able to make the type of money id be making at UPS and also I wont have the benefits and pension and all that good stuff that comes with working for UPS. I'd really like to open up a gym and train athletes and make a living doing something that I love to do, living my dream and playing by my own rules, but theres always that big chance that i'd fail and wind up broke as hell and regretting leaving UPS. My family and anyone i talk to all think UPS is the best company in the world and say i'd be an idiot to leave, you know, the same kind of **** we'd say if we never worked for UPS. None of these people have any idea what UPS is really about and would think 100% differently after a few weeks in that hell hole. I'm really confused on what I should do, ive been stressed out lately and reached the point where i HATE my job as a loader. My shop steward says theres no telling how long ill have to wait to go driving, it could be next month or in 2 more years, so i'm seriously confused about what I should do