Do I have a right to bump?

Ky Cats

Hi, everyone this will be my first post but I am a long time reader. I have been driving for 8 years now 2 with a bid route. My route has been cut 8 days out of 14 with 5 days being in a row. I am still working other peoples routes when mine is not in, but I have a lower bid route driver whos route is never cut. Do I have the right to bump him off his route?

Hi, everyone this will be my first post but I am a long time reader. I have been driving for 8 years now 2 with a bid route. My route has been cut 8 days out of 14 with 5 days being in a row. I am still working other peoples routes when mine is not in, but I have a lower bid route driver whos route is never cut. Do I have the right to bump him off his route?
It all depends on what regional supplement you work under. All you union BA, he knows the right answer for where you are located.

UPSGUY72

No you can't bump. They only way you can bump if if you got bumped. You still have a route and still drive it they just happen to cut it somedays. If they permantly cut he route that would be a different story.

brownmonster

Man of Great Wisdom
You can follow 51% of your bid route and bump the person that has that 51%. If it's split between 5 drivers, no. You cant bump off of your route permanently until your route doesn't run for 30 days in a row. These are the rules in my neck of the woods.

UPSGUY72

Before you start quoting your RIDER maybe you should read the whole thing not just the parts you like to hear.

He can't bump they haven't permanently split his route. Your rider even says that he couldn't bump in your area.

Section 6 – (Package) New Jobs and/or Permanent​

Vacancies

When a
package driver’s bid area is geographically permanently (thirty
(30) calendar days) changed by fifty percent (50%) or
more, the driver will have the option to choose which portion
of the delivery area he will keep, excluding November and​

December.