Do you have a route that gets cut?

NonDeliverOtherMissed

I am a full time driver and my full time route gets cuts every Monday and sometimes Friday's. Most of the time they will put me on another route, or some days I will get the day off. Sometimes they give me the option to work but of coarse I always decline. Just wondering if anyone else has this same situation and what they do. Also, is there anything in the contract about this? I know as a full time driver I'm guaranteed 8 hours but IMO I think they should give me a choice of the routes that need covered for that day or the option of taking the day off, as long as they have cover drivers to cover.

billerz

There are multiple routes in my center that are bid on even though they are split/junk routes. When they cut them (at least twice a week) those drivers swing. They rarely get the day off, so that's a plus for you that you have that option.

Re-Raise

When they cut my route, I have the option to follow my work and bump any driver delivering packages from my route with less seniority.

The person I bump then goes to the bottom of the vacation coverage.

It doesn't suck too badly for me because I know the combo route pretty well.

They never give me the option to not work.

Grey

The most annoying drivers are the ones that have routes yet bid on other weekly routes bumping younger guys off 9.5

Re-Raise

710 language...Article 8 Section 3.

If an Employee's package route is temporarily eliminated he/she will have the ability to follow any portion of their route as seniority allows. The displaced driver will displace any junior coverage driver. The displaced coverage driver will work as directed.

I have asked if I have to work when my route is cut. They always respond that seniority gives me a right to work, not the right not to work.

NonDeliverOtherMissed