Does this mean I will start working ?

new_upserMA

I worked as a seasonal helper thru Dec 24.. I said I was interested in working as a package handler in the hub and the HR person put my name on a list. Yesterday they called and asked me if I was interested in working morning shift starting 6:45am. I said yes and I was scheduled for a 'tour' Tuesday morning at 6:00am.. does that mean I will start working??

upschuck

I worked as a seasonal helper thru Dec 24.. I said I was interested in working as a package handler in the hub and the HR person put my name on a list. Yesterday they called and asked me if I was interested in working morning shift starting 6:45am. I said yes and I was scheduled for a 'tour' Tuesday morning at 6:00am.. does that mean I will start working??
No, that is the first step in the hiring process.

UPSGUY72

No. Just means that are interview people for 1 or more position open on that shift. This is that first step in the process to show people what you actually will be doing.

HardknocksUPSer

First the tour and then the wait to be called or told when you will be able to come in for your start day. If they tell you "we will call if we need you" look for another job but apply for the package handler position every time it's posted.

PT Car Washer

so what should I do so I can get in?? The driver I worked with gave good feedback.. I always met him 10 minutes early did whatever he asked
The reason UPS takes people on the tours first is to show you what will be expected of you. A lot of potential employees bail after the tour. A lot more bail after the first day.

new_upserMA

The reason UPS takes people on the tours first is to show you what will be expected of you. A lot of potential employees bail after the tour. A lot more bail after the first day.