DOK

stealth8

I have been a pkg car driver for over 32 yrs now, and a Circle of Honor driver. Last Thursday when I came in off my route there were a group of safety managers waiting to test us on the DOK. I don't panic because I can recite all of them in my sleep. My center manager and sups know this, so they always "steer" the testers to me. I aced everything that I was asked. Then one of the testers asked me to recite and demonstrate the 8 keys to lifting and lowering. I had already recited the 8 keys earlier, but for some reason they asked me again to not only recite it again but, to also demonstrate using a prop pkg. After the demonstration I was told that I did not bend my knees enough when I squatted down to pick up the pkg! He told me that we are now expected to squat like a catcher until our butts almost touch the ground before lifting. I told him that I was never instructed that way but he still gave me a failure. Now none of them congratulated me on knowing everything to do with the DOK, the only thing they harped on was the one "mistake". The next morning my Ctr mgr came up to me and asked me again to demonstrate the 8 keys!! By the way I found my 29yr safe driving award stuffed in my cubbie. No presentation, no thanks for being a safe driver, no handshake, no nothing. I had plans of working for at least 1 more year because I still love what I do,but I have decided to retire this fall. I don't like the direction that this once great company is headed with all of there micro managing! I want to leave on my own terms still at the top of my game, and most of all I want to remember the way UPS was, and not what it is becoming. Cheers

ajblakejr

Age quod agis