double shift or unemployment

mnwild

I am a new FT driver and with things slowing down I am now laid off, along with one other. We both have enough seniority to bump in on preload and local sort to get our 8 hours. The other driver has decided to work preload and file for unemployment. I know when you file for unemployment they ask you if you were available for work and if you turned down work. Isn't it considered being dishonest?

JonFrum

Unemployment Compensation rules vary by state. It may be that you can work half a day and still collect a partial Unemployment check.

It may also be that you are under no obligation to bump someone else out of a job just because you can. The Unemployment Office may concider that counterproductive to their goal of keeping people working. You would just be passing the misery on to the next guy. Part-timers are people too.

UnconTROLLed

perfection
I am a new FT driver and with things slowing down I am now laid off, along with one other. We both have enough seniority to bump in on preload and local sort to get our 8 hours. The other driver has decided to work preload and file for unemployment. I know when you file for unemployment they ask you if you were available for work and if you turned down work. Isn't it considered being dishonest?

Not to my knowledge. Like Jon said, it likely varies by state and also by supplement. I know here that you can deny 4 hours of inside work if you are a laid off driver. If you took a paycut going back inside (your reg PT inside rate), you can seek the difference in pay as well.

Highwayman

This happened to me in the past. I worked two sorts for six months,preload and local. The next year when it came up again I asked the unemployment office about it and it was deemed a hardship to drive to work twice a day(20 miles one way). I informed my supervisor about this and they found me 8 hours work all at once.:smart:

wannabeups