Drawing a monthly check from your 401k.

brownmonster

Man of Great Wisdom
Has anyone started taking money out of their 401k for it's intended purpose of augmenting your monthly income upon retirement? Can you withdraw it monthly directly form the 401k or does it have to be converted into an IRA first? Any one consider turning it into an annuity so you get a gauranteed check until you die?

rod

Retired 22 years
I've been drawing $500 a month out of my IRA for 9 years now. I draw it out of a separate Hartford acct. that was set up just for this purpose. Right now there is just a little less left in it than when I started drawing on it. At the rate it is going down I figure I only have about 45 more years left before it dries up at which time I will be 107 years old and will probably have other things besides money to worry about. Get yourself a good financial adviser----you won't regret it. I've got a couple of retired UPS friends that thought they were smart enought to do their own financial planning and they have pretty much wiped out their savings and are back working full time at crappy jobs just to make ends meet.

mattwtrs

Retired Senior Member
A good financial adviser is worth their weight in gold. A few years ago his advice saved me almost $20,000 in taxes to the IRS.

We talk every couple of months and meet once a year. He usually asks if I need any more of my money in my monthly check. I tell him not yet.

I am not withdrawing any 401K or IRA money yet. Those checks will be my cost of living increase in a few years if needed.

I am a few years away from SS so a good plan seems to be working.

I GOT ONE MORE

FWIW

I would roll the 401k to an IRA as soon as possible after separating from the company. There are just too many negatives about keeping it in the 401k.

You have thousands of more choices on the ways to invest in an IRA. Mutual funds, individual stocks, bonds, even just holding it as cash. More choices.