Driver transfers to another state

annorev

Hello!
I am a driver and want to transfer to another state. My union rep. said there are essentially 3 ways to do this -- one is to register at a college/university near the center you want to transfer to, to pursue educational opportunities...another would be if a family member is sick (sibling or parents). Or if the center manager in the new center hires me. So okay, let's say I register for a class in the city I want to transfer to, how do I initiate the transfer process? But what if the new center has all the drivers they can use right now? Wouldn't make sense for them to hire a driver from another state, would it?
My HR manager here said he didn't think hourly transfer are possible, let alone to another state. So who is right?

I seriously want to go to this new center, as I need to move there but don't want to leave the company.
ANY help on this would be appreciated!!

barnyard

KTM rider
You could try google searching this forum and see the scenarios where drivers are able to transfer. You could also add what part of the country you are in, as that matters. You cannot transfer in many parts of the country.

Shifting Contents

Most Help Needed
I've never heard if education transfers for FT drivers. A hardship transfer is all I know of and they're not guaranteed. Knew a Guy who's ex wife's job moved her and the kids across the country. He asked for a hardship transfer and was denied. He eventually just quit and got rehired. Lost seniority, years of service and everything.

scratch

Least Best Moderator
Staff member
We don't do driver transfers around here at all. I only know of two, both times the driver had to quit and start over as a new hire at the new building. They lost all seniority and had to go to the bottom of the list. I wish we could bid to other buildings within my division or district at least to cut down on my commute.

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.