Extra work on Saturday

phoneman

I am a part time air driver in the southern region. My center is forcing me on Saturdays and not going by seniority. Can they do this? If not what do I do? I won the bid for the air shuttle and drive it Mon thru Friday. Is this considered a sixth punch? I called my union rep and he said they had to go by seniority and to tell them I an not going to show up. Can they fire me for not showing up? I would like to have some type of written proof from the contract to back this up before standing my ground and not knowing for sure. I have tried to deal with this before and only got threats about changing my schedule to a Tues - sat and Mon will be the extra work. If that is the case should the seniority rule still apply. If they put my name on the list and force me every time does that deny the senior labor the chance to do the extra work? Could they grieve that. I need some help figuring this out.

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.
Offer work from the top force from the bottom. That's the way it works. If you're forced to work don't just not show up. File a grievance that someone under you wasn't forced to work.

phoneman

Sounds good i do not want to get charged for not showing up. The full time sup knows this but why do I have to grieve this to get it to work? Is that considered a form of intimidation? If it is then how can I approach that? It just seems inefficient for the full time sup to disregard the proper order of doing his job. Also how does the seniority differentiate between full time part time cover driver?

Jackburton

Gone Fish'n
You need to make it well known that you are being forced to work a six punch to all FT employees you come in contact with. If I knew you were working a 6 punch before me I would file and we'd both get paid. Hopefully you have a few people in your center that would want to work and help you resolve this staffing issue, otherwise you better hope you ain't the low man in senority.