Fed Ex Ground Benefit Questions

Luvmyups2

Hi There!! Newbie here!! Newbie not only to this thread but also to the Fedex familly. My hubby has been an employee of UPS for 14 years. Was a friend/t driver for 8 years making awesome money and benefits but I was offered an out of state transfer so we jumped on it. Unfortunatley w/UPS not offering transfers for their friend/t employees (which is ridiculous btw) we gave up UPS to pretty much start over at the UPS hub here. Back to Loading trucks, 4am shifts and a HUGE pay cut its been quite a struggle.
Recently he was offered a full time driving position w/Fed Ex Ground so weeks of thinking about it have decided "why not"~ My only big concern was them being "independent contractors"~ That means losing our great UPS benefits, 401k etc. Its definintley alot to swallow.

My question is are there any companies that anyone has heard of that give these ground drivers good deals on benefits? My wheels have been spinning in my head on what to do , is this the right decision etc etc.......
Hubbys happy w/not having to pull 4am shifts anymore and not having to work a 2nd job to get by. Now it's decent pay, great hours BUT no Family Benefits!! Kind of a toss up huh!?!?!? Will Ground ever off Benefits to their driver ya think? I don't understand why Fedex doesn't have any kind of "group plan" under them for the ground drivers!!!

DOWNTRODDEN IN TEXAS

Welcome, and FedEx doesn't offer it because Ground drivers are not FedEx "employees".

Hope everything works out for you, and use the internet to find some decent deals. I know that State Farm offers some health plans...

Cactus

Just telling it like it is
Geez, sorry 'bout your husband's job there but why did you jump at the chance to transfer out of state when your husband had to throw in the towel as a UPS dfriver?

To go from that to work back in the hub and a second job or Fed Ex Ground doesn't seem like the decision to move was really worth it or am I missing something here?