FedEx first route

Hello everyone. I'm new to this forum so please excuse me for not knowing some of the terminology you guys and girls use. Anyway the story is I'm 23 years old and I graduated from college last June. I've been having a hard time finding a real career so I was looking at business opportunities such as route contracting. I've come across a guy who's selling 1 route (FedEx home delivery Tuesday-Saturday) I've asked him a little about the route and why he's selling and he basically told me he has 5 routes and doesn't like filling in sometimes on Saturday, along with a few other things. The route has a driver at the moment and from talking to him the figures look good, after expenses. I'd really like to ask Mom and bbsam a few questions. What are some of the things I should beware of? I've read mom's post about "fire sales", and I'm concerned with that too. The revenue this route generates seems too good to be true, and we all know what they say about things that are too good to be true. Thank you guys in advance for any help you may throw my way.

bbsam

Staff member
Welcome aboard Jonny. Where to begin...don't do it. Not now. Not sure where you are or your financial situation, but Fedex is in the midst of some structural changes that could soon have serious implications. If it is a one route I assume it is a contracted rather than N ISP station. Problem is that the company is moving away from contracting and toward ISP. The main difference as far as you are concerned is that very soon you may be forced to either acquire more routes, sell to another contractor, partner with other contractors, or lose your entire investment.

Also, given your relatively young age, I would suggest you look into route driving before route ownership. That is not to say you couldn't do it or wouldn't like it, but there is little to be gained at this point in jumping in the deep end.