Feeder Driver

Mechman

Hello Everyone
Is there anyone here currently a feeder driver? I'm trying to find out the requirments of becoming a feeder driver in other States. I am currently a Mechanic and I wish to become a feeder driver. But there is one thing thats holding me back. In my State, which is NY, we have two different Unions. The Drivers here are Teamsters in Local 804,while the Mechanics are Machinist in Local 447. I would have to lose all my senority to become a feeder driver, which I am not ready to do. Any similar issues out there.

trickpony1

I'm a feeder driver.
Never heard of this before.
Where I am from (sorry, won't disclose location), all union members are members of the same Teamster's Local. I've never heard of a mechanic becoming a feeder driver or vice versa.
Looks like you have some logistic problems to deal with.
Your last statement about "....lose all my seniority......" seems to answer your question.

Mechman

Hey Trick
A mechanic can becoming a feeder driver, but before he goes into feeder one has to become a package car driver first.(No Way) That I do not want to do.

O

omega man

I am a package car driver working out of Local 177 in NJ. If I transfer to ANY job, including feeders, I lose all my 20+ years of seniority. Local 177 has no respect for seniority. They are currently giving all the feeder jobs to new hires and low seniority members. These jobs should be taken by long term members but aren't because nobody wants to give up the only thing we have left, seniority. The whole concept of giving the best opportunities to the longest term members is completely distorted in my Local. This is all within the same Local so good luck with your situation. What we need are a consistent set of seniority rules for all Teamsters in all Locals.

DS

Fenderbender