Feeders, what do you carry with you?

brown67

After 3 years of being a package/feeder driver I'm finally moving into feeders full time on Oct. 29th. I'm trying to put together a list of things I should always carry with me. So the question I have is what do you keep in your tractors.

W

want to retire

#1 cell phone. Don't leave home without it. If you don't have one, find a way.

#2 satellite radio. I move heaven and earth to make sure mine works BEFORE I start work.

#3 a good, reliable flashlight. Gloves of course. Spares if you can afford them.

#4 If you are in cold weather, extra gloves, blanket etc. Survival stuff. Really.

#5 lot's of water.

#6 get some cheap tools and keep in there. Come in real handy.

#7 some guys carry an extra light cord or maybe an airhose assembly(blue/red) or perhaps a flasher(ask your mechanics if you don't know), electrical tape, duct tape,plastic zip-ties.

#8 Windex and some type of cleaner-409 or such and extra paper towels.

#9 spare pair of underwear and socks........you never know. BTW-an overnight kit if the weather turns bad......you never know. We had a feeder driver get stranded for 3 days! With no extra clothes, toothbrush etc.

barnyard

KTM rider
^^^^^^^^

I have several pairs of gloves. I only use them in feeders because they get greasy and nasty. I added a pair of yellow dishwashing gloves to add as liners when it is wet or really nasty out. Get in the habit of always taking your gloves off, before you climb in the cab. You do not want grease on the steering wheel.

I have a flashlight that I carry on my belt.

I found a large, adjustable wrench in the road and use it to thump the tires and would also use it if I would ever need to swap gladhands. Our regular guys also carry extra rubber seals that go in the gladhands. Mechanics seem to like handing those out.

One of the feeders that I cover has a can of Off in the cab. Mosquitos get pretty thick at dusk and dawn. A little spray around the ankles is pretty nice.