From package handler to driver in a year or less

Hey I'm just getting started as a package handler here in Seattle, I've been told by my HR guy that I could make driver in as little as 3-6 months. He's a nice guy and doesn't seem like the time to screw with me or anything, does anyone have any thoughts on this? He said things have changed in the past few years and it is much easier to get a driver position nowadays..

I also have another question. I am interested in moving to New York, possibly next summer, does anyone think that if I DID make driver that I could take that job with me to NYC?

Thanks.

-Stephen

Mr Shifter

As for becoming driver in under a year it all depends on the demand. I've heard that some centers hire people off the street for drivers during peak season only. The centers then give them the boot when peaks over or move them to package handlers. As for you getting the driver position from package handler i would guess it also depends on the demand and you outstanding performance and attendance record. At my center I've had a co worker move into part time feeder shifter with me with less than a year seniority when it was clearly written as a pre-requisite that you had to have at least on year seniority. I did some research and it was probably do to his outstanding performance and high demand for a shifter.

And for changing centers intirely I've heard numbers of time that is only for education purposes and i even ran that by a head of HR myself.:)

brownrodster

Hey I'm just getting started as a package handler here in Seattle, I've been told by my HR guy that I could make driver in as little as 3-6 months. He's a nice guy and doesn't seem like the time to screw with me or anything, does anyone have any thoughts on this? He said things have changed in the past few years and it is much easier to get a driver position nowadays..