Full Time Driver in need of help or advice

Daniel Bryant

Hello,

1st let me say I'm new to the board and looks like there is a ton of good info all over, looking forward to this now that I have found it. Here is my situation, I'm a ft driver but the bottom guy on ft driver list. Our center is cut, cut, cut! I'm always laid off, they use me as if I am a cover driver. I work the preload in the mornings, then if they need me, they tell me I'm needed on the road. I am the only ft driver that is ever laid off or has to work the sort. Everyone else comes in and if we have extra, they will just send someone home that wants to go. Several days I come in at 4am, they cut it too close, I end up running worst route in building and working right up to my 14hrs. If they can ever make it without me they drop my pay rate after 7 days off road. I've begged and begged to be on the road with everyone else with ZERO success. I've even told them let me come in and if I can't find a home, I will go home without pay, no luck with that either. I worked WAY more as a cover driver and didn't come off road for 5 years. Now I'm ft they have me trapped without the option of getting another pt job to make it by. I don't mind the work and most of the time actually like what I do, but ups has me to my ends. The last thing I wanna do is try and start over somewhere else, I've been at ups since I was 18 and have dedicated my life to this company. Any thoughts or tips on what to do with my situation is greatly appreciated. thanks.

728ups

All Trash No Trailer
Since you are a FT time driver you are guaranteed 8 hours work when you report,so you need to stand up for yourself and demand the time.You are on the bottom of the seniority list so working the sort plus driving is part of paying your dues.It sux being on the bottom,but we all went thru it.

Daniel Bryant