Going from preload to air driver and back to preload

MoDiddly

Hi, I had a couple questions that maybe somebody with more experience or has been in this situation could help me out with. Ive been working at ups for the past 8+ years on the preload as an unloader/sorter/spa person and I also work a pt job outside of ups on the side. Recently there has been bid sheets for part time early am driver. I won the bid and was offered the air driver job and took it but now im contemplating whether its a bad move. Currently im making 16.50 on preload and would have to take a pay cut down to 12.00 an hour for air driving but after 2 years Id be making more than my progression on preload. Im not very happy about taking a cut in pay but unload is breaking my back and I want to get off preload. What im worried about though is if I end up getting laid off from air driving after peak or I decide I dont like the air driver hours and want to or have to go back to preload for either reason. When I go back to preload from the air driving, would I get my old rate of 16.50 back or would I have to work the preload at my 12.00 air driver rate?? I asked the HR person when i took this air driver gig and she didnt know, so I will try to ask around to other air drivers or a steward. Has anybody been in this situation?? I have other concerns about taking this air gig too in relation to my other job and schedule conflict.

MoDiddly

I havent started anything yet and am still working the preload until I gotta goto the driving class so Im pretty sure I can still back out of this. Besides i did ask HR about this and they didnt know. Nobody seems to ever have these answers at this place when I do ask.

menotyou

bella amicizia
But, I thought there was something about being red-circled, as far as pay. I do know the 2 years goes fast. The job is gravy.

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.