Got asked to switch to small sort? Should i?

Ant12

Im an 18 year old student planning to go to college and I'm a loader..ive been told loading is one of the more difficult jobs in the building, and I've been loading for a year. A new small sort schedule is being added to my hub, and they need people. My ft sup asked if i was smart and if i would want to go up there. I said "could i try it first, then decide?" then he kinda brushed it off and said he has a lot of other people interested and that he will talk to me about it later. I have a history of catching a lot of bad bags and that may be why they asked me to go up there, and I'm also not on the muscular side lol, still do my best loading though. 9/10 times ill come home sore from loading, and i hear small sort is a lot less physically taxing. So can someone help me make a decision? thanks

Ant12

Key word in small sort is SMALL which also means light. Tough decision.
i know i can't decide :(. i love the loaders i work with too. loading irregs and breaking jams get pretty annoying and i was wondering what other jobs in the hub were like, and now may be the best opportunity

Ant12

Are you planning on taking classes primarily during the early or late part of the day? This will impact what shift you should work on.
well, i was told it would be the small sort twilight (I'm a loader on twilight now) but that sorters come in earlier, and leave earlier than loaders do. I load on the PD that has the most volume in the hub, so we often leave late, up to a half hour after other PD's get done

Overpaid Union Thug