Had opportunity to buy routes, Opinions?

jmurph40

So I have been driving for Fedex Ground for about 4 months now. In that time I've learned how the business works and how much it can suck. I have gotten close to the original contractor that hired me who owns 7 routes. 6 PSA's and one Supplemental. I hate driving the trucks due to the obvious pay and no benefits, but the contractor part of it seems to be lucrative. Long story short I have outside investors that are willing to give me the money I need to purchase around 4 PSA's. Is there really money in this business on the contractor side of it? After payroll. expenses, and Fedex deductions. Any true, honest opinions would be appreciated.

thedownhillEXPRESS

So I have been driving for Fedex Ground for about 4 months now. In that time I've learned how the business works and how much it can suck. I have gotten close to the original contractor that hired me who owns 7 routes. 6 PSA's and one Supplemental. I hate driving the trucks due to the obvious pay and no benefits, but the contractor part of it seems to be lucrative. Long story short I have outside investors that are willing to give me the money I need to purchase around 4 PSA's. Is there really money in this business on the contractor side of it? After payroll. expenses, and Fedex deductions. Any true, honest opinions would be appreciated.

​run

bbsam

Staff member
Depends on alot of variables. Condition of trucks, amount of sale, payroll, etc. If you consider it, get all income and expense info from the contractor and pay an accountant to go over it with you as well as a lawyer. Same advice I gave Nick here and he bought routes and now spends alot of time here bitching about his decision.

fedupped

bb, is it true you can write off about anything you come into contact with? Serious. That would be where the money could be recouped.

bbsam

Staff member