Heat in package car

10veleze

In Florida a female UPS driver complained to the news about no A/C in the package cars. She said that she is been admitted to the ER 3 times because of heat exhaustion.

Well I'm a cover driver and sometimes the heat sucks, but if you drink plenty water before, during and after work the heat is not going to be a problem, that is my case. Any driver from Texas, Arizona? I would like to see how you manage the heat, because I know the temp over there is between 100-107 degrees daily.

Here is the full story.
UPS driver fed up with trucks that don't have A/C - Sarasota News | Mysuncoast.com and ABC 7: Local News

J

jibbs

In Florida a female UPS driver complained to the news about no A/C in the package cars. She said that she is been admitted to the ER 3 times because of heat exhaustion.

Well I'm a cover driver and sometimes the heat sucks, but if you drink plenty water before, during and after work the heat is not going to be a problem, that is my case. Any driver from Texas, Arizona? I would like to see how you manage the heat, because I know the temp over there is between 100-107 degrees daily.

Here is the full story.
UPS driver fed up with trucks that don't have A/C - Sarasota News | Mysuncoast.com and ABC 7: Local News

Heat exhaustion's no joke. I had a little ER rendezvous last summer while I was working in an auto shop. You think 105 is bad? Try working underneath the hood of cars that are running all day in that 105 degree heat. 105 outside easily translates to 125+ working bottomside and even under the hood (and that's a truly conservative figure.)

Those package cars are SWELTERING come the end of preload when the temp's lately only reaching maybe 75. I'm not sure how effective the windows are in cooling the truck down but I could easily see someone getting a little heat sick driving for UPS all day, especially if they don't take preventative measures to keep themselves cool and hydrated.

curiousbrain