Hour Break vs accidents...they ARE related

Sniper

I have been lurking around here for a year or two and this is my first post as everyone can see.

I'm a 21+ year vet.

I will get to the point of the post after I ask ONE simple question.

Does anyone, at any station for FedEx Express know, have knowledge of the MANDATORY hour break rule.

We are mandated to take an hour break but I have VERY good information that other stations get a waiver because of the "extended areas" the drivers cover...not so here.

It's all about the money, money saved at our expense. Accidents have exploded due to the pressure to close our delivery window.

If anyone can chime in about NOT taking an hour break it would be most helpful ASAP.

Thank you...time to step up...if you see something say something and I will continue my story.

Cactus

Just telling it like it is
Welcome Sniper.

We're still on the mandatory hour break except for a few times when we've had late freight and then our SM OK'd 30 minutes.

overflowed

Welcome. Same as him^^^. More reason to take out what the 195 says and no more. If over even 3 drop it. That's what's going on at my neck of the woods.

mjtrackman

I'm a fairly new swing driver (2 month's) and I've come back a few times after only taking a 30 minute break. With learning all these new routes I cant afford to be sitting around a extra 30 minutes if they want me to make service. I explained it to my manager and he was fine with it.

BulkRoute

We are still on the one hour break rule as well. Lots of routes really struggle to get back to the building on time, and make service on SO DELs. I have also had days where this has caused me to struggle with pups and getting back to the building on time. We have been told that it is a directive, and non compliance will result in a letter or termination.

!Retired!