How are they going to keep PTers after next month.

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie, Only been with the company 3 weeks. I work as a sorter at my hub. I enjoy the job, but nothing they say to you before hand really prepares you for how physical it really is for such a tiny amount of money.

I know they have trouble keeping New Hires, but I was just wondering what every1 thought is going to happen when they make the new hires wait 6 months for benefits.

I'll be honest, I might've quit by now if I knew nothing was going to improve for at least 6 months.

Just curious what other ppl's thoughts are.

Leftinbuilding

Ya gotta be mature enough to think long term. Hard to do when you are 18-20 yrs old. If you stick it out, you can have a nice secure (relatively) career.

deathracer

trust me i know what you mean, but just stay unless you have another job that is permanent without lay offs, cause thats hard to find right now especially with the economy. remember UPS is for a long term career its not something for ppl that are willing to quit anyday. i remember i started in a class(for training) with almost 20 ppl almost a year later there are only 4 left might be 3 if i decide to quit soon. did they even train you? i remember someone telling me that they dont even train ppl like they used to.

satellitedriver

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie, Only been with the company 3 weeks. I work as a sorter at my hub. I enjoy the job, but nothing they say to you before hand really prepares you for how physical it really is for such a tiny amount of money.

I know they have trouble keeping New Hires, but I was just wondering what every1 thought is going to happen when they make the new hires wait 6 months for benefits.

I'll be honest, I might've quit by now if I knew nothing was going to improve for at least 6 months.

Just curious what other ppl's thoughts are.
Gauging by your avatar, I would say quit now.