How do i advance my career here?

Discussion in 'Introductions and Welcomes' started by Ramseys, Apr 30, 2015.

1. Ramseys

Ramseys New Member

Hello everyone!

I am new to BC and i love working for UPS! I have been lurking the forums for a few days and figured i would really like to ask for some advice on what to do. I have been working as an Unloader/Sorter for the past 7 months, and i was also a driver helper the previous winter. I have been looking for other opportunities such as Saturday driving but i unfortunately haven't learned how to drive manual transmission. I am looking to find a position that provides a more livable wage than i currently make, I have a B.S. Degree but no other work experience :/ Can anyone suggest to me some other options?
  2. upschuck

upschuck Well-Known Member

Welcome to BC, and apologies for what is about to happen.
    • Like Like x 4
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  3. Dude846

Dude846 Backpacks with Jets

Taking the initiative.
    Learn other person's jobs.

The most important part:
    Ass kissing.
  4. Turdferguson

Turdferguson Guest

Here some advice. Learn how to operate the search function on this site
  5. bleedinbrown58

bleedinbrown58 mouth breathers...everywhere

Go away and learn how to read threads without us holding your an option.
  6. sailfish

sailfish Well-Known Member

Unfortunately everything at UPS is seniority based. If you're looking to drive, sign the sheet the next time one goes up. However, if people above you in seniority also sign it they may bump you out if they're only looking for so many, regardless of other qualifications. Or alternatively you could find a second day job elsewhere until you have enough seniority to secure more steady driving.