How does UPS work?

ToastyMittens

I've been working as a loader for about 5 months now, and I honestly think this place runs on magic, blind luck, and sweat.

In all actuality I only really understand up to my FT supe. What goes on after that?

Load/unload dudes
all have some PTsupe to report to
Those PTsupes report to some FT supe?

I'm guessing that the shift manager would be it then
but what does that dude even do?

and what do feeders do/what are they?

brownrod

If you work here long enough then you will stop caring.

I am a FT driver and I don't even know what a center manager does. Beyond that it is magic to me.

curiousbrain

This is just my understanding; have worked at UPS for slightly longer (six to seven months now) than you have. My understanding is incomplete; bear that in mind.

Those PTsupes report to some FT supe?

Generally, yeah. In operations, for example, the PT supes report to a FT manager (the shift supervisor), who himself generally is subordinate to the Center Manager.

I'm guessing that the shift manager would be it then
but what does that dude even do?

I can only speak for my Shift supervisor; I have read on this forum that it is often very different (as illustrated below).

When I arrive in the morning, he is sitting in his office banging away on the computer doing add/cuts and trying to create a plan whereby he can "fit" all the packages that need to be delivered into the routes (or drivers, if you will) available to him (see footnote #1). This is why, for example (you may or may not be familiar with this aspect of the operation), supervisors who print out route manifest sheets too early often have problems because the sheets do not accurately reflect the add/cuts the shift supervisor made.