how long did it take you to get a route?

Logb17

Im a fairly new driver, but not new with UPS. Just interested to see how long it took most of you to get your own route. Did the job get much better after you knew what to expect everyday? I believe im going to hate my job til I get my own route. I hate learning new routes all the time.

I talked to one cover driver that has been waiting 6 years for a route, hes close now. Lots of people retiring. Hopefully ill get one in 4..

over9five

Staff member
I liked being cover at first. No real responsibility, my favorite line was "I'm just the dumb cover driver!"

Bid a route at 5 or 6 years after they ******** me one too many times.

badpal.

avoiding brown kool-aid
They still assign you your first route in our center. I was blessed with this 9.5-10 hr meat and potato (no gravy) train. Can't wait to bid off!

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.
Under 5 years for me I actually preferred the cover driver gig something new everyday lots of days off. Wife went back to school though and I needed steady work. Somehow I lucked into a pretty gravy 200+ mile route.

rod

Retired 22 years