How many calories are we burning during a shift?

anonymous4

Has anyone ever attempted to get a rough estimate per position? I'm a work out addict, and I'd like to know, because I need to up my calories accordingly so I don't lose LBM.

I started working at UPS last week as a sorter on the most difficult sort in the building. I am well above the "expected" PPH because I studied the zips before my first full days this weekend. We have been getting hammered and the rate from start to finish is intense. Honestly, I don't see how loaders/unloaders are burning much more than some of the harder sorts. 70% of my packages are on belts taller than me. I also take the end where there aren't any C-Slides. I would guess 1200-1500 calories per 4-5 hour shift.

Props to you guys for working this job for ANY amount of time. I dare someone to come up with a harder job physically.

I would just worry about learning to do the job the safest way possible. If you hurt yourself they will blame you and the injury could last forever.

Jones

fILE A GRIEVE!
Staff member
Way too many variables to give you an estimate. Google up an online calculator where you can input your height, weight, age, and level of physical activity, there are several that will estimate your total daily calorie needs based on that information, probably in the neighborhood of 3500 a day. When people talk about hard this job is I assume they've never tried landscaping or roofing, among other things. This job really isn't that hard.

robot

Has A Large Member
hrm..i think i burn about -700 calories a day....i think i've gained about 40ish lbs since i've gone to feeders...ugh

148.jpg
148.jpg

av8torntn

When people talk about hard this job is I assume they've never tried landscaping or roofing, among other things. This job really isn't that hard.

One summer in college my job was to carry bundles of shingles up a ladder all day. Had to be among the hardest work I've ever done.

browniehound