How would you redesign the UPS package scanner?

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by trubin, Sep 28, 2013.

1. trubin

trubin New Member

Hi all,

I am an industrial design student and have been tasked with designing a barcode scanner. I have decided to redesign the handheld scanner you guys and gals use daily when out delivering and picking-up packages. I am probably going with some sort of body-mounted device and am leaning towards a light-weight, touchscreen, fore-arm mounted scanner. I am also considering integrating an RFID scanner to scan multiple boxes at once without the need for direct line-of-sight with all labels.

I am looking for some input from those of you who use the current scanners: what you like, what you don't like, aspects of the physical design as well as the software that you think could be better. Is it too big/small? Too heavy? Are the physical buttons you use to input information a good size? Is it durable? What's the battery-life like? Any ergonomic issues (how does it feel in your hand)? Is it nice to look at, or ugly? Are they harder to use if you're left-handed? Are there different models of scanners that are used in different regions?

Any information you can share will be very helpful.

Thanks in advance,

Todd

2. serenity now

serenity now Guest

Industrial Spy............?

3. A two year old could have come up with a better design for DIAD V! how much do they pay these. I E guys to be idiots???

4. bleedinbrown58

bleedinbrown58 ahhh....the mouth breathers

This was the big IE project just before designing the diad 5....naming crayons....lmao
    259519997247107107dSTRWdOyc-1.jpg

5. Thats not a picture of 5 monkeys in a jerk circle!

6. bleedinbrown58

bleedinbrown58 ahhh....the mouth breathers

I don't have pics of them peeling bananas on their lunch hour....lol

7. edd_tv

edd_tv Cardboard picker upper

Think ofthemost logical layout that would help us daily, then do the exact opposite.

8. Anonymous 10