Hubs Need To Implement Bomb/Explosion Response Teams Until EMTs Arrive

A

anonymous6

with 12 million packages going thru our hubs everyday the threat of a bomb and or explosion is very real. it would take EMTs 10-15 minutes or longer for them to respond. by then a person could bleed out.

the first one or two minutes are critical. I learned emergency first aid in the scouts and would have a reasonably good chance of helping someone. but how many people do ? we should consider training managers in emergency first aid to respond until the pros arrive.

maybe hubs could pass out American Red Cross booklets on emergency first aid or have fire depts. come to hubs and perform demonstrations. it's best to be proactive in this area.

thoughts?

over9five

Staff member
Agreed mostly. I was an EMT back in the day, and it has always amazed me that UPS never even sponsored a CPR class.

​I think they should sponsor a full First Responder course to anyone (not just management) who is interested.

Agreed mostly. I was an EMT back in the day, and it has always amazed me that UPS never even sponsored a CPR class.

​I think they should sponsor a full First Responder course to anyone (not just management) who is interested.
Why?????They want us old timers to drop dead! That way they can replace us with younger faster and cheaper labor!!!

I Am Jacks Damaged Box

***** Club Member (can't talk about it)
I've wondered about that as well, along with the crush injuries, amputations and avulsions that are possible just by the belts. I still keep my Paramedic certs active for my other part-time job and a real First Responder who actually gives a (expletive deleted) is worth their weight in gold to us.

I do not foresee UPS or FedEx ever doing any training above a management band-aid crew level...which is sad.

over9five

Staff member
I don't want it to be a part timer who wants to move up the list at my expense!!!!:sick:
38863728.jpg

Returntosender