Is it worth starting out as PT Sup with UPS

CuriousBro

I possibly have a chance to start off as PT supv with UPS. I have never worked for UPS before and most of the stuff i read regarding PT supv with UPS has been negative (mostly coming from this forum).

I have management degree and supervisory experience already so i am not sure if this would be a good fit for me.

As a supervisor with my previous company i treated my employees with respect and had nothing but positive experience being a leader. I am still friends with some of the people i managed 2 years ago. Furthermore my management loved me and backed me up all the time, I never got "harrased" or "yelled" at by a manager (something PT sups get on daily basis it seems according to this forum). If i did something wrong i was talked to in a professional , respectful way same way i talked to my employees if they did something wrong. This seems very odd to me that a big company like UPS would treat their supervisors by yelling or harrasing them ( i thought we were all adults)...

Some of the threads i read are old so i was wondering have things improved , should i take this job, or should i run like the wind.

CuriousBro

Ugh did you even read what i wrote. I am not currently working for UPS i have a chance to start off as a UPS supervisor as soon as i join the company.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Its a dead end job. Stay union.

Did you even read what he posted? He does not work for UPS and will be starting as a PT sup.

To the OP---go for it. Don't worry about what you read on here---many of the folks who post here are jaded and bitter. Keep in mind that the PT sup position is quite possibly the worst job in operations. You will get little to no respect and will catch grief from both mgt and hourlies. That being said, it is the best way to get your foot in the door if you intend to make UPS management your career.

Nimnim

The Nim
What are you looking to get out of this?