Is there a set max a part-timer can work?

I am a part time Air driver in the evenings. I get a guaranteed 3 hrs from that. Before I leave to shuttle I work cust. counter for and hour and a half and then unload trucks for an hour and a half. In total it's a 6 hr day which was very good for me, until yesterday. I was told no part timer could work over 5 hrs anymore (i had done this for about two years) and now am being made to train a replacement for cust. counter. My new hrs are 6-7:30 (belt) then 7:30-10:30 (shuttle) cutting me out an hour and a half a day. Is this a new rule UPS is putting in or what? I would occasionally get overtime on my check, but it was on my driving and never over like an hour or two. I'm pretty confused as to why this is happening all of a sudden. Anyone else seeing anything similar to this?

1000RR

They are doing this at my center too. Eliminating double shifting for part timers. Make sure that management is not doing any union work. Often times here preload will need help, but nobody will do it because they are telling us we are only allowed to work one shift. They are sliding a little bit on this new rule because last week they were short 4 people so they have no choice to let people double shift. Hope this helps.

JonFrum

There is no maximum number of hours an inside part-timer can work. (Though check your regional Supplement, just in case.)

However, since you are an Air Driver you are subject to the same DOT limitation on hours that a package car or feeder driver is.

You should not be training your replacement. Training is not part of your job, unless you have gone through the proceedures in Article 6, Section 5 and are certified and paid extra as an Hourly Trainer. Otherwise leave training to the Supervisors.