Is there anything I can do?

Boznok77

I have been a driver for just over 4 months now. For the past few weeks, my supervisors have been calling me and telling me that another center 20 miles away needs me. I have been going down there and going out blind almost everyday because I don't know the area at all. I heard this might last for the next few months.

I have a problem with this because this was not the building/center that I applied to work at. Everyday, I drop my daughter off at the babysitter at 8am and head into work. I am always on time and never late. Ever since I have been told to go to the new building, I am about 20-30 minutes late everyday because I have to drive further and there is always traffic on the two major highways. Everyday I am told I have to start showing up on time because there are late airs almost everyday.

When I wanted to go driving, I didn't put my name on that building driving list because I knew I could never make it on time with my situation. I only applied to the one I knew I would be able to be at on time. I also have an older car and hate putting more miles and wear and tear into when I shouldn't have too.

I have been told that I have to go down to the other building because you have to follow directions and work were needed. I was just wondering if that was true and if so, is there anything I can do otherwise?

I don't think they can send u to a different center but being that it's only 20 miles away I'm not sure. It does sound like the only work available so maybe in a small tiny way this is a good thing for your wallet

I'd work where directed but make it quite clear that your daughter and traffic will affect your arrival. Let them send the air out with another driver. Their regular drivers bitching about the situation might help. Once you're out of the bottom 10% of your driving board you can bump the junior drivers to the other building.

hellfire

no one considers UPS people."real" Teamsters.-BUG